Ensemble

Eunoia Quintett – helping to shape the sound of our time 

EUNOIA (“beautiful thinking”) is the shortest word that sounds all five vowels. This compressed beauty can also be found in the instrumentation. With soprano, trombone, cello, percussion and piano, the Eunoia Quintet represents all instrument groups and covers a wide range of timbres.

Eunoia Sound

A finely tuned sound is important. From the commissioning of a composition to the rehearsals and the performances, the focus is on the examination of the timbres. The instrumentation makes it possible to bring out contrasts in timbre and create a genuine group sound.

The combination of voice and instruments determines and extends the repertoire possibilities. In ensemble pieces the soprano voice becomes an instrument that fits into the mini-orchestra, in music-theatre works the instrumentalists become storytellers. Versatility is the quintet’s strength: Eunoia represents chamber ensemble, opera company, orchestra, choir and much more.

Eunoia Profile

The Eunoia musicians came together during their Master’s degree in contemporary music at the Basel University of Music. The quintet is based on close friendships and a shared passion and commitment to New Music. Since Eunoia was founded in 2011, the quintet has performed at various international concert venues, including the Gare du Nord Basel, Wien Modern, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Zeiträume Basel, BKA Theater Berlin, Rheinsberger Pfingstwerkstatt Neue Musik, Stanislavsky Electrotheatre Moscow, as well as in Frankfurt, Zurich, Bern, Geneva, Lausanne, Winterthur, London, Edinburgh and Manchester.

Eunoia composition commissions

A great deal of interest is shown in the close collaboration with living composers who write for the instrumentation. Together with them, the five musicians want to make the sound of time audible and help shape it. The notes are not received passively, but the musicians are actively involved in the creative process. In this way the music performed becomes “their own music”, written for their strengths and preferences. This sense of originality and personality is communicated to the audience.

It is just as interesting to work with young as with established composers: Eunoia is committed to the young generation. The projects with composition students have proved to be extremely fruitful for both sides: for the composers and the quintet members.

Eunoia often commissions work series that are related to a specific theme. The concert programmes have already been praised for their well thought-out conception. In 2012 and 2013 the projects “Carte postale” and “Anew” took place. For the 2013/14 season, Eunoia was the ensemble of the season at the Gare du Nord: the six-part concert series successively focused on one vocal each. A total of nine new works have emerged from this series.

Eunoia Stage

In 2014/15, the Eunoia Quintet was engaged by the Berne Concert Theatre for the interdisciplinary production “Das brennende Haus”. In 2015 they became prizewinners of the Concours Nicati, the most renowned competition for contemporary music in Switzerland. In 2015/16 the ensemble toured with their own music theatre production by Carola Bauckholt and Dmitri Kourliandski. With the Japanese composer Chikako Morishita a large musical theatre is planned again for 2022.

The quintet attaches great importance to collaborations with other artists: in 2016 Eunoia was invited by Ensemble TaG from Winterthur to participate in an exchange project. In 2017 the quintet played joint concerts with the Ensemble Contrechamps from Geneva. Also in 2017, the Eunoia Quintet has realized a joint performance project with the festival Zeiträume Basel, the Gare du Nord Basel and the composer François Sarhan, which will be performed in Basel, at Wien Modern and at BAM! Berliner Aktuelles Musiktheater. In 2020 there will be another guest performance of this project at the Festival Scène nationale d’Orléans.

Eunoia Audience

As an ensemble founded in Basel, it is important to the musicians to further anchor Eunoia in Basel. In addition, however, there is also the desire to establish the quintet nationally and internationally. Their own passion tempts the musicians to constantly break new ground and to abolish the supposed boundaries between the different art forms. Coupled with the wide range of projects the quintet tries to address a broad audience.

Eunoia Future

At the Festival Scène nationale d’Orléans, the quintet will be a guest at the 2020 festival with the performance project “One Shot Train” by François Sarhan.
In autumn 2020 the Eunoia musicians will again present a new concert format including exciting premieres – “Eunoia plugged”.
In 2021, the ensemble celebrates its 10th anniversary with a series of concerts at the Gare du Nord.
For 2022, the ensemble creates its own music theatre production with the composer Chikako Morishita. Performances are planned in France, Luxembourg, Basel and Great Britain.
The Eunoia Quintet is also planning a first CD recording with exclusively their own works.

Ensemble

Eunoia Quintett – den Klang unserer Zeit mitgestalten

EUNOIA („beautiful thinking“) ist das kürzeste Wort, das alle fünf Vokale erklingen lässt. Diese komprimierte Schönheit findet sich auch in der Besetzung wieder. Mit Sopran, Posaune, Cello, Schlagzeug und Klavier repräsentiert das Eunoia Quintett alle Instrumentengruppen und decken ein breites Spektrum an Klangfarben ab.

Eunoia Sound

Ein fein abgestimmter Sound ist wichtig. Von der Beauftragung einer Komposition über die Proben bis zu den Aufführungen steht die Auseinandersetzung mit den Klangfarben im Vordergrund. Die Besetzung erlaubt es klangfarbliche Kontraste herauszuarbeiten und einen genuinen Gruppenklang zu erzeugen.

Die Kombination von Stimme und Instrumenten bestimmt und erweitert die Repertoire-Möglichkeiten. In Ensemblestücken wird die Sopranstimme zu einem Instrument, das sich in das Mini-Orchester einfügt, in Musik-Theater-Werken werden die InstrumentalistInnen zu Geschichtenerzählern. Die Vielseitigkeit ist die Stärke des Quintetts: Eunoia repräsentiert Kammerensemble, Opernkompanie, Orchester, Chor und vieles mehr.

Eunoia Profil

Die Eunoia MusikerInnen fanden sich während des Master-Studiums der Zeitgenössischen Musik an der Musikhochschule Basel zusammen. Das Quintett basiert auf engen Freundschaften und einer geteilten Leidenschaft und Engagement für die Neue Musik. Seit Eunoia 2011 gegründet wurde, ist das Quintett an verschiedenen internationalen Konzert-Einrichtungen aufgetreten, darunter der Gare du Nord Basel, Wien Modern, Philharmonie Luxembourg, La Scène nationale d’Orléans, Zeiträume Basel, BKA Theater Berlin, Rheinsberger Pfingstwerkstatt Neue Musik, Stanislavsky Electrotheatre Moskau, sowie in Frankfurt, Zürich, Bern, Genf, Lausanne, Winterthur, London, Edinburgh und Manchester.

Eunoia Kompositionsaufträge

Das große Interesse gilt der engen Zusammenarbeit mit lebenden KomponistInnen, die für die Besetzung schreiben. Zusammen mit ihnen wollen die fünf MusikerInnen den Klang der Zeit hörbar machen und mitgestalten. Dabei werden die Noten nicht passiv empfangen, sondern die MusikerInnen bringen sich aktiv in den kreativen Prozess ein. Die aufgeführte Musik wird so zur „eigenen Musik”, geschrieben für die Stärken und Vorlieben. Dieser Sinn für Originalität und Persönlichkeit wird dem Publikum vermittelt.

Es ist ebenso interessant mit jungen wie mit etablierten KomponistInnen zu arbeiten: Eunoia sieht sich der jungen Generation verpflichtet. Die Projekte mit KompositionsstudentInnen haben sich als äusserst fruchtbar für beide Seiten gezeigt: für die KomponistInnen und die Quintett-Mitglieder.

Eunoia gibt häufig Werkreihen in Auftrag, die mit einem bestimmten Thema in Verbindung stehen. Die Konzertprogramme wurden bereits für ihre durchdachte Konzipierung gelobt. 2012 und 2013 fanden die Projekte “Carte postale” und “Anew” statt. Für die Saison 2013/14 war Eunoia als Ensemble der Saison im Gare du Nord zu Gast: die sechsteilige Konzertreihe hat sich sukzessiv auf je einen Vokal konzentriert. Insgesamt neun neue Werke sind aus dieser Reihe entstanden.

Eunoia Bühne

Gib hier deine Überschrift ein

Als ein in Basel gegründetes Ensemble ist es den MusikerInnen wichtig, Eunoia in Basel weiter zu verankern. Darüber hinaus besteht aber auch der Wunsch das Quintett national sowie international zu etablieren. Die eigene Passion verleitet die MusikerInnen dazu immer neue Wege zu gehen und die vermeintlichen Grenzen zwischen den verschiedenen Kunstsparten aufzuheben. Gekoppelt an die breitgefächerten Projektfelder versucht das Quintett ein breites Publikum anzusprechen.

Eunoia Zukunft

Im Herbst 2020 stellen die Eunoia MusikerInnen wieder ein neues Konzertformat inklusive spannender Uraufführungen vor – „Eunoia plugged“
2021 feiert das Ensemble sein 10-jähriges Bestehen mit einer Konzertreihe im Gare du Nord.
Für 2022 entsteht eine eigene Musiktheater-Produktion mit der Komponistin Chikako Morishita. Aufführungen sind in Frankreich, Luxembourg, Basel und Großbritannien geplant.
Ferner plant das Eunoia Quintett eine erste CD-Aufnahme mit ausschliesslich eigenen Werken
.