[juːˈnɔɪ.ə] – The concert series

You can find videos of this project here…

Ensemble of the Season 2013/2014
Gare du Nord, Basel

The concert series [juːˈnɔɪ.ə] consists of six concert programmes.

We are commissioning several new works (ten thus far) from both established and young composers in Switzerland and beyond. Each composer has the task of exploring one of the vowels: E-U-O-I-A. In total, we will play one concert per vowel and a final concert that brings all of the vowel commissions together.

The composers, and their chosen vowels are as follows:
Isabel Mundry and Aziza Sadikova will write on ‘O’
Erik Oña ‘E’
Mike Svoboda, ‘I’
Balz Trümpy ‘U’
Sidney Corbett ‘A’

In addition, the composers Leonado Idrobo, Ian Wilson and Kevin Juillerat will also write new works and, for the sixth concert, Roland Moser is conceiving a new piece based on 12 different vowel sounds.

The composers have no set rules to follow; the commissions can be connected to the vowels in any way, through text, sound or performative means. The influential book Eunoia by Christian Bök could be a means of inspiration: each of the book’s five chapters uses words with only one vowel. As the book develops, each vowel establishes a distinct personality and timbral identity.

The commissions will constitute the main work in each concert and other works will be programmed around them. Similarly to Bök, we will search for a timbral identity that defines the vowels from one concert to the next. Thereby, we hope to create a dramaturgy that spans the six concerts. We invite the audience to share this journey with us!

We thank our sponsors:

Tharice Foundation

October 2013
December 2013
January 2014
February 2014
May 2014
November 2014
No event found!

[juːˈnɔɪ.ə] – Die Konzertreihe

Videos zu diesem Projekt finden Sie hier…

Ensemble der Saison 2013/2014
Gare du Nord, Basel

Die Konzertreihe [juːˈnɔɪ.ə] besteht aus sechs Konzertprogrammen.

Wir gaben zehn neue Werke von etablierten und jungen, schweizerischen und internationalen Komponisten in Auftrag. Jeder Komponist hatte die Aufgabe, einen der Vokale zu erforschen: E-U-O-I-A

Insgesamt spielten wir ein Konzert pro Vokal und ein Abschlusskonzert, das alle Vokalaufträge zusammenführte.

Die Komponisten und die von ihnen ausgewählten Vokale sind wie folgt:
(Robin Hofmann ‘E’ – 2018 als Ersatz für Erik Oña)
Balz Trümpy ‘U’
Isabel Mundry und Aziza Sadikova schrieben zu ‘O’
Mike Svoboda ‘I’.
Sidney Corbett ‘A’

Darüber hinaus haben die Komponisten Leonado Idrobo, Ian Wilson und Kevin Juillerat neue Werke geschrieben, und für das sechste Konzert konzipierte Roland Moser ein neues Stück, das auf 12 verschiedenen Vokal-Klängen basiert.

Die Komponisten hatten keine festen Regeln zu befolgen; die Aufträge konnten in beliebiger Weise mit den Vokalen verbunden werden, sei es durch Text, Klang oder durch performative Mittel. Das Buch “Eunoia” von Christian Bök konnte ein Mittel der Inspiration sein: In jedem der fünf Kapitel des Buches werden Wörter mit nur einem Vokal verwendet. Im Laufe der Entwicklung des Buches bildet jeder Vokal eine eigene Persönlichkeit und klangliche Identität.

Die Auftragswerke bildeten das Hauptwerk jedes Konzertes, andere Werke wurden um sie herum programmiert. Ähnlich wie Bök haben wir nach einer klanglichen Identität gesucht, die die Vokale von einem Konzert zum nächsten definiert. Dadurch versuchten wir, eine Dramaturgie zu schaffen, die sich über die sechs Konzerte erstreckt. Wir luden das Publikum ein, diese Reise mit uns zu teilen!

Wir danken unseren Förderern:

Tharice Foundation

Keine Veranstaltung gefunden!