The Burning House (Casa que arde)

Burning House
(Theatre piece for anarchist girls and stuffed animals)

Based on “The house of Bernarda Alba” by Federico García Lorca

Staged by Maricel Alvarez & Emilio Garcia Wehbi

Konzert Theater Bern, Switzerland, 2015

 

The title “Burning House” quotes, in part, a famous phrase by Spanish anarchist Buenaventura Durruti (1896-1936), killed during the Spanish Civil War, which in turn was a quote from an original phrase by Russian anarchist Peter Kropotkin, who said: “The only enlightening church is a burning church”.

Thus, it is from the anarchist postulates that this staging revisits Federico Garcia Lorca’s play “The House of Bernarda Alba”. The family, taken as the basic structure of microfascism, religion as the oppressor of man’s free will, and the home as women enclosing place under phallocratic mandate, all these seem to turn this version towards a more explicitly political territory than the original. In order to avoid that underlining, both the text and the staging thrive on materials of diverse natures that pollute and veil its conceptual essence. Therefore, the visual and textual universe of American brut artist Henry Darger (1892-1973) and his saga “The Story of the Vivian Girls, in What is Known as the Realms of the Unreal, of the Glandeco-Angelinian War Storm, Caused by the Child Slave Rebellion”, lists of psychiatric medications taken from a vademecum, or Michel Onfray’s texts where an ethical hedonism is proposed as a “Theory of a Body in Love” are all part of its formal and conceptual guidelines, which focuses its strategy on the oppressive structure of male discourse which, to this day, still holds the female body hostage in every culture around the world. In this manner, it attempts to be a poetic reflection on gender issues.

Text for the program brochure / Konzert Theater Bern, 2015

Actors: Henriette BlumenauKirsteen HaardtSophie HottingerMona KloosJonathan LoosliMilva Stark / Dancers: Pauline BriguetBeatriz Navarro BaenaIzabela OrzelowskaMarion Zurbach / Musicians: Johanna GreulichEllen FallowfieldLouisa MarxenClemens Hund-GöschelStephen Menotti / Girls Chorus: AnoushJulia BeldiEna BeyliJulia Sophia BillPaula Flurina BillSahar BitarNyama FrauchigerAmélie FunkeCéline FunkeElla GfellerPina HugAnna StalderRonja StukerLara Von NiederhäusernVanessa Zesiger / German translation: Johannes Schrettle / Assistant to the directors: Michaela ChristMario Matthias / Photos: Philipp Zinniker / Dramaturg: Karla Mäder / Costumes: Senta Amacker / Set: Frank Holldack / Music: Eunoia Quintett / Choreography: Lisi Estaras / Text: Emilio García Wehbi / Directors: Emilio García Wehbi Maricel Alvarez

April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
Keine Veranstaltung gefunden!

Das Brennende Haus (Casa que arde)

Das Brennende Haus (Brennendes Haus)
(Theaterstück für anarchistische Mädchen und ausgestopfte Tiere)

Nach “Das Haus der Bernarda Alba” von Federico García Lorca

Inszeniert von MARICEL ALVAREZ & EMILIO GARCÍA WEHBI

Konzerttheater Bern, Schweiz, 2015

Der Titel “Brennendes Haus” zitiert zum Teil einen berühmten Satz des spanischen Anarchisten Buenaventura Durruti (1896-1936), der während des spanischen Bürgerkriegs getötet wurde, der wiederum ein Zitat eines Originalsatzes des russischen Anarchisten Peter Kropotkin war, der sagte “Die einzige aufgeklärte Kirche ist eine brennende Kirche”.

Diese Inszenierung greift Federico Garcia Lorcas Theaterstück “Das Haus der Bernarda Alba” auf, das den anarchistischen Postulaten entstammt. Die Familie als Grundstruktur des Mikrofaschismus, die Religion als Unterdrücker des freien Willens des Mannes und das Haus als Frauen, die unter einem phallokratischen Mandat Platz finden, scheinen diese Version auf ein expliziteres politisches Territorium zu richten als das Original. Um diese Unterstreichung zu vermeiden, leben sowohl der Text als auch die Inszenierung von Materialien unterschiedlicher Art, die ihr konzeptuelles Wesen verunreinigen und verschleiern. Daher listet das visuelle und textliche Universum des amerikanischen Brut-Künstlers Henry Darger (1892-1973) und seiner Saga “Die Geschichte der Vivian Girls, in den sogenannten Reichen des Unrealen, des glandecoangelinischen Kriegssturms, verursacht durch die Kindersklavenrebellion”, psychiatrische Medikamente aus einem Vademekum auf, oder die Texte von Michel Onfray, in denen ein ethischer Hedonismus als “Theorie eines verliebten Körpers” vorgeschlagen wird, sind alle Teil ihrer formalen und konzeptuellen Richtlinien, die ihre Strategie auf die unterdrückende Struktur des männlichen Diskurses konzentriert, der bis heute in jeder Kultur auf der ganzen Welt den weiblichen Körper als Geisel hält. Auf diese Weise versucht sie, eine poetische Reflexion über Geschlechterfragen zu sein.

Schauspieler: Henriette Blumenau, Kirsteen Haardt, Sophie Hottinger, Mona Kloos, Jonathan Loosli, Milva Stark / Tänzerinnen: Pauline Briguet, Beatriz Navarro Baena, Izabela Orzelowska, Marion Zurbach / Musikerinnen: Johanna Greulich, Ellen Fallowfield, Louisa Marxen, Clemens Hund-Göschel, Stephen Menotti / Mädchenchor: Anoush, Julia Beldi, Ena Beyli, Julia Sophia Bill, Paula Flurina Bill, Sahar Bitar, Nyama Frauchiger, Amélie Funke, Céline Funke, Ella Gfeller, Pina Hug, Anna Stalder, Ronja Stuker, Lara von Niederhäusern, Vanessa Zesiger / Deutsche Übersetzung: Johannes Schrettle / Assistent der Geschäftsführung: Michaela Christ, Mario Matthias / Fotos: Philipp Zinniker / Dramaturg: Karla Mäder / Kostüme: Senta Amacker / Bühnenbild: Frank Holldack / Musik: Eunoia Quintett / Choreographie: Lisi Estaras / Text: Emilio García Wehbi / Regie: Emilio García Wehbi: Emilio García Wehbi und Maricel Alvarez

April 2015
Mai 2015
Juni 2015
Keine Veranstaltung gefunden!